A for style, C plus for content.  It was a slick speech.   But Obama’s ideas were half-baked when they weren’t laughably hypocritical.  For instance, a guy who files a criminal complaint against someone who made an ad about him, a true ad by the way, should think twice about promising to “restore” civil rights.  Also, just between you and me, having the government promise to restore civil rights is like having the wolf promise to guard the chicken coop.  Civil rights have to be defended against the government, not by it.

His prescription for government sounded like a high school essay, and not a great one.   He’s going to tax everyone with any money, but workers will get better wages.  Um, from whom?  Who is going to pay those great wages when they’re paying more taxes?  He’s going to give health care to people whose employers don’t offer it.  Gee, think every small business in the nation will immediately cancel health care for their workers?  After all, they’ll be paying higher taxes.  Anyway, the “details” Obama finally offered were self-contradictory and amateurish.

The best part of the speech was the slickness.  For instance, paraphrasing:

“I know I’m not a typical candidate for President.  I understand that I have no qualifications or experience.  I understand that my ideas are half-baked and ignorant [I said I was paraphrasing], but my opponents don’t understand that this election is not about me.  It’s about you.”

Very slick.  No answer to his lack of qualification, but instead he turns the stage lights on the audience.  “You’re the stars, not me!”

However, the election is about him.  It’s also about John McCain, but no one has any questions about McCain.  We know who he is, even though some of us don’t like all of what he is.  Obama wants to be President.  He says it’s not about him, but about you.  But he’ll be in the oval office if he wins, not you.  So it is about him.  It’s strange that he is apparently so aware of his own shortcomings that he doesn’t want it to be.

